rainbow cupcakes

credits here

Illinois is cold. And it’s covered by a huge blanket of snow! Everything outside is so sad and depressing and I’m wearing two pairs of socks just to keep warm! But somehow, colorful things can just make days like this so much better! So last night I made rainbow cupcakes to give my heart a little jump of joy!
You can make them too! It’s super easy and really fun too :)

Rainbow Cupcakes (an easy how to!):
{makes 24}

I just used a Pillsbury white cake mix. If you have your own white cake mix, that’s fine :)

mixing everything together per instruction from the mix!

I like to make sure it’s all mixed pretty well.

Divide the batter into separate bowls. I used six, one for each color of the rainbow.

Get out your food coloring and mix into the bowls.

If you don’t know how exactly to mix colors you can go here for some help! If your making, for example, the color orange, one thing I recommend is to use less of the more dominate color, which is red. I also used 3-4 drops in each bowl :)

Pour into your muffin tins! Fill only about 2/3 of the way. I did some different color combinations! This is really the point where you can get creative!

Now it’s time for my favorite part…licking the batter! Bake your cupcakes according to the instructions of your mix. And after your done licking all the yummy batter off, you can make some homemade frosting!

 

Easy Homemade Frosting:
(warning…makes a lot!)

What you need:
2 lb bag of powdered sugar
1/2 cup of butter (make sure it’s softened)
1/4 cup of water
1 egg
1 T. of vanilla

Add everything in a large bowl together and mix with an electric hand mixer till you have the right consistency. If you don’t plan on using the frosting for a later time, I recommend cutting the ingredients in half for the cupcakes. I had about half left over after I was done icing.
(I also just realized that you can see where I stuck my fingers in to make sure it tasted good, haha :) )

 

When the cupcakes are done, let them cool. I put mine out in our garage because of how cold it is. Also, refrigerate the frosting.

After about half an hour, your cupcakes should be cool enough to frost!

Get out your favorite spatula and get to frosting!

 

I got a little too excited for my family to try them after icing them to take pictures, but they looked good!
Super fun and easy! Perfect baking activity for a cold winter. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, how to, recipe

2 responses to “rainbow cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention rainbow cupcakes | Amazed -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: ♥ | Amazed

Leave a Reply

