keep it simple stupid

photo from ingridesign

While talking with mom as I sat in the backseat of her car, with my leg propped up, I had mentioned the phrase, “keep it simple stupid.”

Maybe I just never thought hard about this phrase before, but really, it’s such a simple reminder that I tend to overlook all the time. Like, why would I make a chocolate cake the easy way when I can make a fancy, extravagant, dark German chocolate cake of some sort that I have no idea how to make! Maybe not the best analogy but you know what I mean.
A lot of the time, I ten to make things harder than I need to. And I know I’m not the only one! Why do we make thing hard than we need to? Maybe it’s because we simply don’t know what the easy way is. Maybe we’re not looking, or thinking things through fully to see that, hey, I’m making this very hard on myself. And when we look back on the situation, you want to hit yourself in the face.
When you keep it simple, things seem so much easier. I’ve spent so long making things difficult. The new year is coming, and so one of my resolutions is too keep things simple!

Leave a comment

Filed under thoughts

Leave a Reply

